Spamtastic mailing (June 29, 2007)
Folks: This is just a short post with a bit of a warning. This morning, I was alerted by some users that a company by the name of “Avid Hosting” is sending spam emails to our clients trying to convert them over to Avid Hosting’s spamtastic servers.It appears that this company is the new upstart of Ernesto Haberli (Not Mark Carruba as originally presumed) These are the guys that originally bought DIYHosting. A quick check of the whois database reveals Avid Hosting’s cluster URL (aviddns.com) confirms that. The admin is one “Tom Rogers”. That’s the same alias used when they set the whois on Reseller-Center, VIP-Hosting and DIYHosting.
Maybe I am wrong: Maybe they are just doing this so they can finally pay us the six figure sum they have a court order for. There’s an idea. Well, maybe not.
A pet peeve of mine is companies and/or people that don’t earn their living. Spamming is not earning something. Spamming is a low down dirty way of trying to steal and/or con customers. If you, as a company, have to send unsoliciated email to people in order to get new clients, you don’t belong in the hosting industry.

(10 votes, average: 4.4 out of 5)
Simon Oct 5
There were several comments on this blog entry but I have decided to hold them in moderation for now. In light of some information being submitted to us, including private information that could help us track Haberli, I will hold the comments in moderation until such a time as I feel comfortable with having such information made public (probably after our case is resolved).
If people, including his ex-employees would like to submit information about Haberli, please contact me at s.orourke[@]eirca.net